Commission Background

The City’s voters authorized the City of Waterbury to form a “District Reapportionment Commission” (DRC) when they amended the City Charter in the November 2014 general election ballot.  Under the Charter amendment, the DRC is charged with recommending to the Board of Aldermen (BOA) the boundaries of the City’s five new three-Aldermen election districts.  Once it receives the DRC’s recommendations (on or before January 30, 2015), the BOA will establish the districts after holding at least one public hearing. 

The DRC has 8 members from varied ethnic backgrounds and neighborhoods within Waterbury.  It includes Democrats, Republicans, and Other.